Polesworth (Abbey) Scout Group was orginally founded in 1971 as Polesworth Scouts.  The first meeting place was the old Methodist Church on Bridge Street (now a nursery), before moving in 1976 to the old green hut behind the Nethersole Centre on High street. Polesworth Scout Group quickly gained popularity and before long a second group was added, forming 1st and 2nd Polesworth Scout Group. In 2012 the Group changed it’s name to Polesworth (Abbey) Scout group.  After the Nethersole Centre was sold for redevelopment, the group finally had to move out in February 2014 before moving into a new, purpose built HQ and community activity centre on a half acre, site at Pooley Country Park in 2016.

The group is comprised of a very popular Beaver Scout section, Cub Scout Section and Scout Section, and are currently the largest group in the whole of Tamworth District.

Working equally as hard as the leaders is the executive committee, who perform the roles that underpin the Group, allowing it to function to it’s best ability.
The current committee comprises of:

Ian Mason: Chairman
Vacant position: Group Scout Leader
Tracey Loveland: Treasurer
Emily J Baugh: Secretary
Liz Richards/Simon Smith: Parent Liaison
Martin Etheridge: Assistant Beaver Scout Leader
Roy Morning: Maintenance